Dr. William Hutchinson Award

The nomination process for the annual Dr. William Hutchinson Award is now closed. Thank you for submissions for the 2015 award.



Nominees for the Dr. William Hutchinson Award must be residents of Sault Ste. Marie/District of Algoma. Members of the Board of Directors are neither eligible to receive the award nor to nominate a potential recipient.
Criteria for Selection
The award is the responsibility of the Governance Committee of the SAH Board of Directors. The Nominee must have made a significant or distinguished contribution to health services in Sault Ste. Marie/District of Algoma. Selection of the recipient will be based on criteria contained in the nomination form (below) and includes the following:
• Innovation in Health Care Services
• Volunteer Service
• Community Involvement
• Demonstrated Leadership Ability
• Fostering of Teamwork and Partnerships
• Work-related Excellence
Nomination Timeline
The deadline for nomination submissions was Friday, April 10, 2015. SAH’s Governance Committee will now review the nominations and make the selection by May 2015. All nominators and the recipient(s) will be notified via letter.
Award Presentation
The award will be presented at SAH’s annual meeting which takes place in June.
For more information, contact (705) 759-3601.


Past Recipients
1982 Dr. F. C. Hamill, Blind River
1983 Dr. Frances Mesaglio, Sault Ste. Marie
1984 Mrs. June Bauer, Hornepayne
1985 Mr. P. Edgar Buchan, Sault Ste. Marie
1986 Mr. Harold S. MacLellan, Sault Ste. Marie
1987 Mrs. Joyce Forman, Sault Ste. Marie
1988 Miss Joan O’Leary, Sault Ste. Marie
1989 Mr. Fred Griffith, Sault Ste. Marie
1990 Dr. William Robertson, Sault Ste. Marie
1991 Mr. Mario Bergeron, Dubreuilville
1992 Dr. David Gould, Sault Ste. Marie
1993 Mrs. Hilda Syrette & Dr. Thompson A. Ferrier, Sault Ste. Marie
1994 Dr. Harold & Mrs. Beth Trefry, Richards Landing
1995 Ms. Rosemary O’Connor, Sault Ste. Marie
1996 Mrs. Kim Sitzes, Dubreuilville
1999 Dr. Patrick Fyfe & Shannon McLeod, Sault Ste. Marie
2000 Mrs. Doreen Deluzio, Sault Ste. Marie
2001 Mr. Anthony van den Bosch, Sault Ste. Marie
2002 Mrs. Linda Watts, Sault Ste. Marie
2003 Ms. Marilyn Billings, Bruce Mines
2004 Dr. Hui Lee, Sault Ste. Marie
2005 Dr. John Kenneth Mohamed & Mrs. Cathy Shunock, Sault Ste. Marie
2006 Dr. David Walde, Sault Ste. Marie
2007 Mr. John Hollingsworth, Sault Ste. Marie
2008 Dr. Sam (Sante) Fratesi, Sault Ste. Marie
2009 Helen Ross, Sault Ste. Marie
2010 Dr. Dominic Tang, Sault Ste. Marie
2011 Dr. Kwok-Lock Lam, Sault Ste. Marie
2012 Dr. Susan Febbraro, Sault Ste. Marie
2013 Elaine S. Pitcher, Sault Ste. Marie
2014 Dr. Janice Willett, Sault Ste. Marie
iCare logo NorthEast Local Health Integration Network (NE LHIN) Logo